cdesktopenv.org

Just another WordPress site

Windows

How To Use Windows 10’s Timeline Feature

How To Use Windows 10’s Timeline Feature

Timeline is part of the Task View in Windows 10, which displays the history of activities that you have done and allows synchronizing all activities across your computers.

This feature has recently been added in the Spring Creators Update of Windows 10 version. It can also support the mobile apps if you log in them with your Microsoft account. Furthermore, you can see a Word document opened on your iPhone /Android phone appearing in the Timeline.

Note:

The Nearby Share feature is currently only available if you participate in the Windows 10 Insider Preview program. The feature is expected to be rolling out to the public in the Spring Creators Update, which is around April 10.

How to Access the Timeline

To launch Task View, click on the “Task View” icon in the Cortana box from your taskbar. If you don’t find the icon, simply right-click on your taskbar and choose “Show Task View Button” to re-enable it.

You can also press Windows+ Tab keys on your keyboard to open Task View. You then see the Timeline below the current windows in Task View. All you need is scrolling down to see it.

Just scroll down through the timeline to see all your activities. You could also see all activities associated with the Universal Windows Platform (UWP) Store apps. They include the web pages that you have seen in Microsoft Edge. App developers will need to add the support for the Microsoft Graph API so that their apps can appear in the Timeline.

The list of activities also includes every file opened in File Explorer, so you can see all documents, images, videos, and other files.

Click on an activity to resume it. Windows will then open the file or visit the web page again, or whatever else you previously accessed.

Activities you’ve performed are grouped so that you can skim this interface more easily. Click on “See All Activities” to see all.

If you want to delete an activity, you just right-click or long-press it, and choose “Remove” or “Clear all from

How to Synchronize Timeline Across Your Computers

Although the Timeline is enabled by default, it cannot sync anything to the cloud. If you allow Windows to sync the data from your computer to the cloud, you will also see those activities on other computers that you log in your Microsoft account.

You don’t need to activate this feature on each computer. For instance, you could turn on syncing on your desktop, but disable it on your laptop. You could see all activities in the Timeline from your desktop on your laptop, but you could not see your laptop’s activities on your desktop if you don’t enable syncing from your laptop.

All you need is scrolling to the bottom of the Timeline and under the “See More Days in Timeline” option, click on the “Turn On” button to enable the synchronization.

You can also navigate to Settings > Privacy > Activity History and turn the “Let Windows sync my activities from this PC to the cloud” section on.

How to Disable the Timeline

If you don’t like using the Timeline feature, simply go to Settings > Privacy > Activity History and turn the option “Let Windows collect my activities from this PC” off.

If you want to delete all contents of your Timeline, under “Show activities from accounts” option, toggle any Microsoft accounts to off and click on the “Clear” button.

To make Timeline more useful, the apps you are using need to support it. We’re not sure how many applications are supporting the Microsoft Graph API, and Timeline.

Share this post

About the author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *